It is picnic of veterans who celebrating town liberation day.
Each year their picnics less crowded and soon it will be no one
who can tell a true story of war and who can show us the places to dig.
The major crossing over Dnepr began on November
4th, 1943. The name Luteg beachhead comes from name of a village where
Soviet Army first broke through German defence. Battle spread on area
of 70 kms along the bank of river North from Kiev.
Troops start coming from everywhere. In Bukrin they left
dummies of planes, tanks and cannons and in one night secretly
re-deployed army. There were partisans from Belorusia, there were
troops and people from all part of Russia and central Asia, civilians from towns
and villages of left-bank Ukraine or just anyone who could hold weapon
and whom Red Army picked on their way.
Luteg beachhead was a scene that town haven't seen since
Mongols invaded it, thousands of people were crossing river on boats,
horses and bags of straw. People were coming and coming and soon
Germans no longer able to hold this avalanche stood back. (photo from
painting in museum)
This was a bloody battle for both sides, more then 180.000 people died in a short period of time.
We not going to explore this place, after war
they built a hydroelectric power station and Luteg battlefield went
under water. Only top sides of bunkers stand out, they are bunkers of
for author page